Gender Inequality

One of the most infuriating aspects of being the “dogparent” is that I’ve noticed, ever since I started working part-time, I have become the “Bad Cop” or “Cranky Mom.” I’m the one who walks them nearly everyday; who puts them in their crates with clean linens and makes sure they have their toys. I sing to them and spend time making sure they’re adjusted and receiving attention. Yet the second my husband gets home, particularly if they’ve been misbehaving for me, they are so excited to see him that I am quickly left in the dust. Sometimes when I speak to them, either during training exercises or just in general, I feel like that teacher from the Charlie Brown cartoons. I think they’ve learned how to tune me out and that really worries for me when we have children.

