Family

There is this terror within me that pervades my entire being whenever “F-A-M-B-I-L-Y” is mentioned. Probably because the majority of mine is so awful (seriously, I stopped talking to most of them when I was in my teens) and possibly because my husband’s is, if possible, even more toxic than the ones I abandoned. I didn’t know it was even possible to treat other human beings this way until I grew up and nearly reached adulthood. But it is no small wonder that family is a four letter word to me.

And in case you’re wondering, no I’m still not over what happened at my wedding. I never will be, which is why we’ll eventually hold a vow renewal. Several years after putting thousands of miles between ourselves and the people from which my husband evolved. Word choice should be noted carefully. 

